Dell XPS not starting

soundofrockets

Dell XPS not starting
« on: 20 Feb 2023, 05:44 am »
Novice here - please bear.  Trying to start an older Dell XPS desktop computer - it’s not starting - has been off for sometime now.
Ideas?

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Dell XPS not starting
« Reply #1 on: 20 Feb 2023, 06:06 am »
Novice here - please bear.  Trying to start an older Dell XPS desktop computer - it’s not starting - has been off for sometime now.
Ideas?
What do you mean say by Not starting?
The HD? the Windows? monitor not show image? etc
Power supply have output?

soundofrockets

« Reply #2 on: 20 Feb 2023, 06:12 am »
Nothing on the screen. 
Windows not starting.
Says - no boot device available.  Strike F1 to try reboot or F2 to run setup utility.

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #3 on: 20 Feb 2023, 06:46 am »
Nothing on the screen. 
Windows not starting.
Says - no boot device available.  Strike F1 to try reboot or F2 to run setup utility.
Seems it not seen the HD or the BIOS, Windows files.
Check the HD cable just in case.

soundofrockets

« Reply #4 on: 20 Feb 2023, 07:39 am »
HD= hard drive?

How or why would the cable be loose?  We never opened the box.

Is there a way to access the bios?

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
« Reply #5 on: 20 Feb 2023, 07:59 am »
HD= hard drive?
Yes
How or why would the cable be loose?  We never opened the box.
Some PCs loose when move, just piece of mind.
Is there a way to access the bios?
Yes, press the suited Fxx key to your PC and the W are loading and it will enter in safe mode. In my PC its F8, from here your can download a new Bios version from Dell site, Iam using Bios A24 W10.

Your system are Windows XP?

soundofrockets

« Reply #6 on: 20 Feb 2023, 08:01 am »