Replicate the Line Source series of speakers

Mike 1960

Replicate the Line Source series of speakers
« on: 20 Oct 2021, 09:51 pm »
I'm wondering how many of you guys are wondering how the LS speakers worked for Danny and why he won't explain why he abandoned them.
I would like to start a discussion about how to revive this line of speakers for creators. What do you think?
I truly believe that it isn't as difficult as Danny makes it out to be. I am an amature speaker builder yes, but not a rank amature. I've been experimenting with speakers since the 1970s.
I know what good sound is. I had a good friend of mine tell me once that I didn't know what I had...The speakers I had built at the time. I didn't believe him. I don't go to HiFi stores.

I just hope that Danny, the most informed on this subject will say what is needed to be said.

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
Re: Replicate the Line Source series of speakers
« Reply #1 on: 20 Oct 2021, 10:03 pm »
Danny didn’t abandon them. The Neo 10 drivers became unavailable. He has been working on developing a replacement driver. It’s just going to take time. It took a couple years to get a replacement Neo 3 driver developed when they became unavailable and that was pre-pandemic and global supply disruptions.

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #2 on: 20 Oct 2021, 10:07 pm »
He's talking about the LS6/LS9 that had custom designed woofers and Neo8s

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
« Reply #3 on: 20 Oct 2021, 10:33 pm »
He's talking about the LS6/LS9 that had custom designed woofers and Neo8s

My mistake. I thought he was talking about the Line Source

Mike 1960

« Reply #4 on: 21 Oct 2021, 03:32 pm »
I'm wondering how many of you guys are wondering how the LS speakers worked for Danny and why he won't explain why he abandoned them.
I would like to start a discussion about how to revive this line of speakers for creators. What do you think?