SlimCenter 7.0 and JIVE remote

Wayne1

SlimCenter 7.0 and JIVE remote
« on: 10 Nov 2007, 01:33 am »
About two months ago, Logitech/SlimDevices released their beta version of SlimCenter 7.0

This is the replacement software/firmware for SlimServer.

I finally downloaded the latest version today. The user interface is improved quite a bit. The ability to create playlists is much improved. There are numerous upgrades to make this software a lot easier to use for the complete novice AND experienced user.

I do suggest SqueezeBox users give this a try. There have been some posts on AA that suggest the latest firmware might change the sound of the SB.

It is too early for me to tell, but I do like the improvement to the UI.

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/7.0/

About the same time, SlimDevices sent out some beta development kits for their JIVE remote platform.

I "think" this is what the SqueezeBox4 will be all about. Here are some pictures of this really cool remote for the SB

Here are some of the particulars about this remote.

- 2.4" color TFT LCD, 240x320 pixels, 16bpp
- Mechanical scroll wheel
- 10 backlit buttons (play, add, go, home, back, vol-/+, rew, pause,
fwd)
- Samsung ARM9 CPU (S3C2412), 200MHz
- 64MB NAND flash
- 64MB mobile SDRAM
- Headphone jack
- Built-in speaker
- IR LED
- SD card slot
- 1250 mAh Li-Ion battery
- 3 axis accelerometer (for motion sensing)
- Charging stand
- Expansion connector that brings out: serial, USB (host or device),
audio out, audio in, 3.3v out, 5v in

I CAN'T wait until this is in general release. It will work with ANY SB. Goodbye Nokia. Hello JIVE  :wink:
« Last Edit: 10 Nov 2007, 01:54 am by Wayne1 »

Bigfish

Re: SlimCenter 7.0 and JIVE remote
« Reply #1 on: 10 Nov 2007, 01:36 am »
Kool!  :thumb:  Darn Wayne, you have added another item to the wish list :duh:

Ken

TomS

« Reply #2 on: 10 Nov 2007, 01:37 am »