V1 - build (photos on page 7)

SteveRB

V1 - build (photos on page 7)
« on: 2 Sep 2012, 09:34 pm »
Hello, this is my first project in the GR Research thread.

I will be picking up my V1 kit in a couple weeks and documenting my build on this thread -- hoping for a little help and inspiration along the way. I've been pouring over the different build info on all the V Series (Super V, V1, V2) threads throughout Audiocircle. I am very excited to get going and have been working on plans and design direction of the speakers. Due to several factors at home, I have to stray from the set plans (Super V wings and grill configuration). I think I have settled on a nice looking concept that sticks very close to functional needs of the design, but borrows a little style from golden age Dynacos...

The design uses two separate grills. The cloth will be oatmeal or light grey. The top grill is thin and sits proud of the front baffle, while the lower grill is inset in the side panels. The top one will be removed for listening sessions when my young daughter is not present; she's not interested in poking at my speakers but accidents can happen.

The skeleton is to be all 3/4" MDF painted with an industrial, textured black paint. The side panels will be 3/4" teak ply.  With the grills fully open, the teak side panels are visible. Also the side panels are at least flush with the front baffle. They may have a radius added later.

PLANS (so far):

Thanks for looking -- I'm open to suggestions along the way with thoughts to improve the performance, looks, and construction. As I mentioned, I won't be picking up the kit for 2 weeks, and probably won't be able to start cutting any wood for 3 weeks. So I have plenty of time to tweak.

Since the design strays a bit from the standard V1, I've been referring to them as V!.

« Last Edit: 6 Jan 2013, 06:15 pm by SteveRB »

jtwrace

• www.theintellectualpeoplepodcast.com
    • TIPP YouTube Channel
Re: V1 - build
« Reply #1 on: 2 Sep 2012, 10:05 pm »