Got a set of used LS6 Speakers, Questions now!

ufokillerz

Got a set of used LS6 Speakers, Questions now!
« on: 11 Feb 2013, 09:41 pm »
I just got a set of piano rosewood LS6 speakers in, and i have some questions.

The No-Rez inside is all detached, these are AV123 speakers, so they have a few years on them, what is the best way to reattaching no rez?

Port Tubes, should these things be glued together, or were they left as is to make it easier to disassemble if necessary?

Hugh

• Industry Participant
    • Angel City Audio
Re: Got a set of used LS6 Speakers, Questions now!
« Reply #1 on: 11 Feb 2013, 10:10 pm »
I'd use 3M glue spray to stick them back.
http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/3M-Super-77/Super77/

I'd leave those port tubes as is, providing they are still tight.

Good luck.

kingdeezie

« Reply #2 on: 11 Feb 2013, 10:11 pm »
Hey man.

Congrats on the LSs. I have had a pair for a few years now, and I would like to delude myself into thinking that I am an expert on getting these speakers to sing to their maximum potential.

I have been through the ringer with these things trying to get them to perform well in my 13x18x8 room, and it has taken a lot of patience, and a good amount of mistakes to get them sounding like everyone said they should.

For the record, mine were initial from AV123 as well. Now, the only thing AV123 left, is the cabinets, and the drivers.

In terms of the No-Rez, AV123 had did a pretty poor job of installing the No Rez in my speakers. They used as little as possible, and didn't clean off the side of the cabinets very well causing a similar issue to yours with pieces falling off. I wound up just buying all new slabs of No-Rez from Danny, and fixing the situation. I used Behr Floor Adhesive remover to get the gunk off the sides, and then cut all new pieces of No Rez where needed.