Sony DVP-S7700 mods

audioengr

Sony DVP-S7700 mods
« on: 3 Mar 2003, 12:26 am »
I traded some perfect crystal silver wire for a bag of mod parts from Dan Wright so that I could do the 7700 mods myself that he usually does.  Well, I did the mods (I left out some of the parts because they didn't make sense to me) and there was a small improvement, but being a digital engineer, I decided to sketch out the circuit to see what other mistakes they made.

I was surprised to find very poor digital design techniques.  Therefore, I decided to redesign the circuit and cut the traces out of the board and rewire it my own way.  The edges of the digital signals were really ragged and there was a lot of "band-aids" to slow the edge rate etc.. in order to pass FCC., who gives a hoot about FCC??????  Also ESD protection, which is a good thing, but not if it kills the sound.  The series transmission line terminator was in the wrong place and so on.

Well, to make the story short, after my mods, it is nothing less than spectacular.  The intensity and dynamics of the music have increased 2-3 fold.  Music finally sounds like live music.  I have never seen such clean, fast waveforms from a transport.  The imaging is truly holographic.

I made these mods right after Brad Judah and Andy Bartha (old time modder) brought over their cheap CDP with mods and their Music Fidelity upsampling dac for a shootout with my stuff (the 7700 and a ModWright modified Perpetual Technologies 3A dac).  Andy's mods to the transport were impressive (and expensive), but my 7700 mods are better.  The MF DAC has good bass response, but lacks HF extension.  I think with the right opamps it would be perfect though.  I really helps to have 25 years design experience as a digital hardware engineer.

If anyone else is interested in these mods, I may have time this summer to do some.  Right now, I am pretty busy with the wire business.  I will have to charge around $800-$1K.

TheChairGuy

Sony DVP-S7700 mods