Any experience with MastersounD amps?

jimmieg

Any experience with MastersounD amps?
« on: 7 Sep 2017, 02:24 pm »
I recently got a pair of Omega super high output alnico monitors and I'm very curious about moving to a low powered tube amp. My current amp is an Ayre ax7e and seems to be fine, but wondering about what I might be missing since I now have speakers that will pair well with low-watt amps. I am selling a pair of Harbeth M30.1 speakers and the distributor for MastersouD has approached me about trading the Harbeths for a MastersounD amp. I had a quick look at his website and they look like nice amps, made in Italy. However I am a tube newbie and have many questions as I work on this. I am already aware that many Omega owners pair them with Decware and i have not ruled this or anything else out at this point. The thing that makes this attractive is that I could accomplish my goal....move a pair of speakers that I no longer have room for....and replace them with an amp that I really would like to try....all in one simple transaction.....tempting. But I just don't know that i know enough to make a decision yet. I know this; I don't want the speakers to sound under-powered and wind up with anemic sound. i listen mostly to vinyl in a small dedicated room, sitting about 6-7 feet away. I don't listen extremely loudly but I would like to be able to turn it up a bit if i am in the mood. The Omegas are rated at 97db, 4-6 ohms. Thoughts?

Gtasound

Re: Any experience with MastersounD amps?
« Reply #1 on: 9 Sep 2017, 03:19 am »
Which Mastersound amp? and which Omega speakers?

jimmieg

« Reply #2 on: 9 Sep 2017, 04:05 pm »
I have super high output alnico monitors.  The Mastersound amps I would consider would be either the Compact 300B integrated or the Compact 845 integrated.

Gtasound

« Reply #3 on: 14 Sep 2017, 02:57 am »