Yamaha YP-800

Musky_Don

Yamaha YP-800
« on: 13 Dec 2006, 08:39 pm »
Hey All,

I’ve been messing around trying to find a decent TT for a second system for a while.  I have bought, or found at garage sales several mid/late 70s TT that sounded pretty good.  Most improve noticeably when I swap out the cheap ICs for a decent pair.  Anyway, I'm still new to the tweaking hobby but I have tweaked several and sold them to friends as I had not found one I really wanted to keep (kind of fun tweaking the tables though my wife is getting a bit miffed as I seem to accumulate them faster than I sell them - lol).

That changed the other day.  I bought a Yamaha YP-800 in pretty close to mint condition.  I did a little research and found that Yamaha had several high end players including the PX-2, PX3, PF-1000, PF-800, but I found very little on the YP-800.  A search on AC showed no results.  I was able to find the specs before I bought it and the TT looked clean so I pulled the trigger.

I’m glad I did.  Great find.  Weighs in at over 27 lbs, with a 4.4 lb platter.  Direct drive with I believe a Grace 804 arm.  I put a Dynavector 10x5 cartridge on it and I am really impressed. 

My main rig is a Rega Planar 25 with a Van Den Hul ‘Frog’.  I dropped the Yamaha into my main system for a compare.  To my ears the Yamaha is not quite as lively as the Rega but maybe a bit more full sounding.  The Yamaha/Dyn doesn’t have the emotional pull and smooth transient detail of my Rega/VDH rig, but I’m pretty sure that is mostly if not all the cartridge.  I have not tried the Frog on the Yamaha yet - my listening sessions have included several rounds of single malt - what’s the ’old’ saying?  Screwing around with the Frog while drinking can be hazardous to your wallet? :duh: