Song towers, Subs and integrated amps

Bigfishhk

Song towers, Subs and integrated amps
« on: 28 Jan 2012, 04:57 pm »
As a subwoofer novice, I hope some fellow Salk owners can chip in.

I have songtowers run by an integrated amp- krell kav 400xi. Overall I am pretty happy, though one day would like to make the move to tubes but that,s another story ( I would say the current match is tad clinical but very transparent)

However I listen to alot of bassy music like dub reggae, trip hop, funk. The st's don't quite have the low end oomph for this , at least in my room, so I am considering adding a sub. I don,t use the speakers for HT. Currently the st's are 7" from back wall, no sign of muddiness. Still want more bass extension that I am getting.

I gather that I can connect an active subwoofer to the preamp outs on my integrated amp.

QUESTION. However I cannot understand how adjusting the crossover point to say 80hz on the subwoofer will take effect. How do the main speakers accept/read this setting, as it were? I would have thought they would continue to run full range unless the crossover setting is made in the amplifier or processor? With my amp I cannot make any crossover settings.

I hope I am making sense. The more i read about subs, the more confusing it gets to this technically challenged music lover!

I would greatly appreciate any further feedback and recommendations in general re using sub with St's. My previous short experience with subs was not good, but it was a mediocre sub in another set up.

If I did get a sub it would be a good one such as Rythmik or Songsub.

Have St owners who,ve added sub been happy with the choice and is it difficult to integrate well?

Thank you
Tom

srb

Re: Song towers, Subs and integrated amps
« Reply #1 on: 28 Jan 2012, 05:17 pm »