Low stands for Omega CAMs

milkplus

Low stands for Omega CAMs
« on: 14 Feb 2024, 01:56 pm »
Hi there. First post, so apologies if this belongs somewhere else, but I wasn't able to search...

I'm currently in the market for some new speakers and am strongly considering something from Omega. I have my eye on the CAMs, but coming from mainly having floorstanders, I've never been a big fan of the typical stands for monitor speakers.

Has anyone had success with this floor-style stand (see image), ie. JBL l100/KL Model 5/etc. with the CAMs? or is this perhaps a bad idea base don the way the speakers are designed?

I'm a bit new to the brand so still trying to learn as much as I can before I make a decision - currently between the CAMs or Junior 8/Super 3

Thanks!

pstrisik

• Holding pattern in Audio Nirvana in the PNW!
Re: Low stands for Omega CAMs
« Reply #1 on: 14 Feb 2024, 03:39 pm »
CAM's are a good choice.  I'm partial to the alnicos having tried both that and the 7" ferrites.

My advice is to get your speakers first and experiment.  Those JBL stands have a tilt, which may be perfect.  But, once you have them, you might find a higher stand with no tilt is preferable.  Use boxes or whatever you have to find your ideal positioning, height, and tilt.  Then order or build stands accordingly.

....Pete

RDavidson

« Reply #2 on: 14 Feb 2024, 07:52 pm »
Yup! That’s good advice by pstrisik.
The thing about those low tilted stands is that you’re sort of locked-in to a certain position and the amount of tilt might not be correct for your listening distance. Also note that single driver speakers are inherently a point source design. I’m afraid the sound will always seem as though it is emanating from the floor versus a more natural height straight ahead. Definitely talk to Louis about it (call him). He will not steer you wrong and will provide options/suggestions you may not have thought of. Louis does custom stuff too!

milkplus

« Reply #3 on: 14 Feb 2024, 08:45 pm »