SE-1 construction Questions (and intro)

Gester

« on: 23 Mar 2004, 11:34 am »
Hi All;

I am trying to set the record for the longest time to make a pair of SE-1's. I think I have had the plans for 2.5+ years and am finally almost finished. These are not my first speakers (ME-2's & Ariels...) and I have been a bit more ambitious constructing a marine ply / mdf laminated box with a solid jarrah front & lots of bracing. My primary excuse is my 2.5 y/o daughter & my "renovators delight" house. I am an IT trainer in Ashwood, Melbourne, Australia (what a surprise to find someone in IT on AudioCircle...!) and my next project is an AKSA amplifier…

SE-1 Questions (I have misplaced some of the original instructions  :( )
1)   What stuffing should be used in the SE-1?
2)   What is the port length?
3)   Are there  any disadvantages in using a 1 inch radius bit to round the edges of the baffle?

Thanks  :D

Gerald Brown

Shamrock Audio

« Reply #1 on: 23 Mar 2004, 04:49 pm »
Hi Gerald,

Boy, you are taking your time arent you? :)

Stuffing:

We used to suggest polyester fiberfil (Dacron pillow stuffing), as it was cheap. However, you can use an open cell foam instead. Assuming that you opt for the foam, use the 2" stuff. Placement should be a single piece that covers the bottom panel of the cabinet, another for the back and sides behind the woofer, and another for the top panel of the cabinet.

Port:

Make the port length 3.5"

1" Radius:

It's doubtful that you'll do significant harm. You will change the dispersion characteristics, but that may turn out to be a good thing. I assume that you intend to use a thicker baffle to accomodate the radius. It's not needed except to accomodate the 1" radius.

Best regards,

Gester

« Reply #2 on: 24 Mar 2004, 06:36 am »
Thanks Mike!

I am very keen to have a good listen!

Gester

Fibre Fill
« Reply #3 on: 13 Jun 2004, 12:39 pm »