Preamp line output gain

WireNut

Preamp line output gain
« on: 24 Nov 2016, 05:29 am »
My preamp line outputs provide more gain then I need. Is there an easy way to lower the line out gain?
I'm not an electronics expert, I can follow easy schematics.

What I'd like to accomplish is to be able to use the preamp volume control at around 12-2 oclock positions rather then 8-9 oclock.
My loudspeakers have an efficiency of 91.5 db, 1 watt/meter. I'd rather not mess with the loudspeakers if possible.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Davey

Re: Preamp line output gain
« Reply #1 on: 24 Nov 2016, 05:41 am »
It may be easy, it may be impossible.  :)
What preamp is it, and do you have a schematic for it?

Dave.

WireNut

« Reply #2 on: 24 Nov 2016, 02:22 pm »
It may be easy, it may be impossible.  :)
What preamp is it, and do you have a schematic for it?

Dave.

Hi Dave. It is a Vintage Pioneer SA-8500 MKii integrated amp. I don't have a schematic but I might be able to find one online.

Davey

« Reply #3 on: 24 Nov 2016, 03:06 pm »
If it ain't broke, don't fix it.  :)  Something like that I would just leave alone if it's working correctly.  Your unit has a preamp-out/poweramp-in loop connection, so simply add a fixed attenuator there to move your volume control to a higher/better position.  Very easy.

They have a service manual (schematic) here:
http://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/pioneer/sa-8500.shtml
You'll have to register to download it though.
I've downloaded many service manuals from here for equipment that I've repaired.

Back in the day, it was not uncommon for preamp/integrateds to have too much gain in the line-amp section.....relative to today.

Cheers,

Dave.

gnostalgick

« Reply #4 on: 24 Nov 2016, 04:46 pm »
I'm currently using Rothwell Attenuators between my pre & amp.  Very transparent & also lowered the noise floor of my system (had some hiss before).  I got mine from ebay for about $50.

WireNut

« Reply #5 on: 24 Nov 2016, 07:14 pm »