Connecting the rm9 to my speakers, light loading

shk

Connecting the rm9 to my speakers, light loading
« on: 9 Jul 2013, 01:22 pm »
I am a newbie to this forum, but not to the rm9, (original owner of #51) which I have enjoyed for many years. I have made few changes to my system until recently. I replaced my preamp with a passive attenuator (Lightspeed) to very good effect. I pored over this forum and the relevant ones from AudiogonN to help with my decision and am grateful for all the good advice I garnered. Learning a bit about impedance matching, gain and sensitivity helped me make some good decisions, but I have been puzzled by the information on this forum about connecting my speakers (Merlin Signature 3+). I have plenty of gain (rarely get my volume knob past 9 o'clock on the lightspeed or my old preamp) and found Roger's advice about light loading attractive and very clear: use the lowest tap that provides sufficient volume to get less distortion, longer tube life etc. When I try this (4 ohm tap into my 8 ohm speaker) my system sounds dull, loosing dynamics and mid range sweetness on vocals. I also tried using the 2 ohm (instead of 0) and 8 ohm tap to similar effect. Perhaps my speakers are in some way atypical or my understanding is flawed. Can anyone speak to this.

Thanks

Ericus Rex

Re: Connecting the rm9 to my speakers, light loading
« Reply #1 on: 11 Jul 2013, 11:04 am »
That's interesting about using the 2 ohm tap for negative connection.  When you do this and use the 8 ohm tap for positive do you then get a nominal 6 ohm tap?

Did you try different feedback settings while you were light loading?  You may recapture some of that magic with another setting.

If you find you like the sound of your sys best using the 0/8 ohm taps don't sweat it.  You'll still get thousands of hours out of your tubes and not even notice the higher distortion.

Good luck and welcome to AC!

rbwalt

« Reply #2 on: 11 Jul 2013, 01:56 pm »