Once (sometimes twice) every couple of days I get the spinning pinwheel of death

Double Ugly

I can still move the mouse, but I can neither close nor open any programs.  The only way I've found to "fix" it so far is to give it the finger (hold the power button till it shuts down).

I'm still a Mac noob (converted less than 2 years ago), and I don't have the foggiest about what's happening or why.  There's probably a log somewhere, but it's of no use unless someone can decipher it for me.

Things in common with each freeze-up - having both Mail and Firefox open are the only constants I can think of.  It happened again just a few minutes ago, and they were the only programs I had opened.

The machine never locked up in any way, shape, form or fashion prior to upgrading to Leopard.  Aside from the occasional freeze-ups, all seems well. 

Help.  :(

mcullinan

Perhaps your network (cable modem) is freezing up, which may cause the programs to hang. You may also have a font issue. Try this: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/21536/fontnuke Im not so sure its a font issue, but.. I dont think it can hurt. Run permission repair also.
Mike

Double Ugly

Perhaps your network (cable modem) is freezing up, which may cause the programs to hang.

Unless I don't understand the network problem you're describing, I don't think the cable modem (or the network as a whole) is the problem.
The computer itself is freezing up (except for the mouse  :scratch:), not the ability to navigate the web.  I could probably surf the web if I could get any of the surfing programs to work.  :cuss:

Additionally, it makes little sense to me that it'd work perfectly for over a year, and then suddenly begin freezing up just after I load Leopard.

You may also have a font issue. Try this: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/21536/fontnuke Im not so sure its a font issue, but.. I dont think it can hurt. Run permission repair also.