transformer hum

lennie trystero

transformer hum
« on: 22 Jan 2019, 06:21 pm »
Hi all - I'm a relative novice around here, so forgive me if this is stupid, or convoluted, or whatever. Over the last few years I've been assembling a system mostly made up of pieces made by a local builder (45 amp, 01a preamp, Cg3-based phono stage). It sounds fantastic on the Tannoys, but some of the transformers are really buzzing. I read around a bit, ending up buying a Humdinger DC line blocker from Audio Van Alstine that made a slight improvement, but not as much as I was hoping for. This is in addition to a passive power conditioner by Running Springs Audio (the "Elgar").

Recently bought an old PS Audio P500 and... the hum vanished. I was able to buy it cheap because it maxed out at 150W -- I was warned by the seller -- and sure enough, after a couple days, it blew out the fuses on my equipment and shut itself down for good. (My system, it turns out, was drawing a bit less 200W total).

PS Audio is willing to rebuild it for $700 plus whatever shipping ends up costing, let's say another $150 or so. Here's my question: is there a better way to spend that money to eliminate, or at least really reduce, the transformer hum? Like, three Humdingers in series? Or whatever? 

Thanks for any guidance.

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: transformer hum
« Reply #1 on: 22 Jan 2019, 06:34 pm »
Dont spend nothing before discover the hum origin and reasons.
Transformer hum can have machanical origin too aside parasitic induction between windings etc, you need an expert to examine this transformer or amp.
« Last Edit: 22 Jan 2019, 11:24 pm by FullRangeMan »

jsm71

« Reply #2 on: 22 Jan 2019, 09:34 pm »