Cornet 2 - LED

ticket

Cornet 2 - LED
« on: 20 Apr 2014, 09:27 am »
Hi All.  I eventually completed my Cornet 2 a couple of weeks ago after a very slow build – I actually built most of it over a year ago, but only recently completed the chassis.  Just to give you a little background: I’m no expert, but this is my fifth amplifier build and all the previous ones worked perfectly first time, including the Bugle/power supply I built 4-5 years ago.

I tentatively powered up the Cornet 2 using my variac – no pops or bangs, but also no red/green light and initially seemingly no lit-up vacuum tubes – I then noticed that the rectifier tube appeared to be working, but not the other 3.  I switched off and started checking things and reading posts on here to determine what might be wrong. 

A week later I powered up again – same result, but this time I checked all the voltages on the circuit board – all very pretty much smack on.  Rectifier tube lit, but apparently nothing from the other 3.  I did notice that the heater voltage at R223 appeared a little low at 5.98.  Sorry, this is turning into a long post!

Another week of reading….. then yesterday I powered up – same result, though heater voltage a little lower at 5.71 (might be accounted for by the level at which I set my variac).  I then checked voltages at centre pin (?) of each (non-working) tube – 5.96 and then noticed that the tubes were warm!  OK I thought, I’m going to put it in my system. I set the volume very low and there was a bump and then …. music!  The bump was the stylus hitting the record! 

So, I have music and pretty good too.  I’m wondering if it’s a little thin, having read various comments on heater voltages, but it sounds pretty good to me.  I’m certainly hearing things I’ve never heard before even with my aged and deteriorating hearing!