Joseph Audio RM25si Signature p/u Seattle only $450

jonbee

Joseph Audio RM25si Signature p/u Seattle only $450
« on: 29 Apr 2024, 02:30 am »
Here is a truly great classic high quality speaker. I've been rehabbing quality speakers for 55 years, and imo this pair is the Holy Grail of audiophile speaker bargain hunting.
They are about 20 years old, used sparingly by older adults.
My price is about the salvage value of the drivers alone, but I hate to destroy such a fine speaker just for salvage.
This pair has some cosmetic issues, not bad, imo, and they sound very good indeed. Excellent clarity, openness and finesse. Tight, clear bass.

The Joseph RM25si Signature is a tall, narrow tower which employs excellent quality Seas Prestige drivers, coupled with the 120 db/octave Infinite Slope crossover, patented by former McIntosh senior engineer Richard Modafferi. The result is superb transient response and lack of coloration. Sweet musical transparency, with a wonderfully smooth, accurate soundstage.
These were on recommended lists for many years, a true classic.
They are a 2.5 way design, with the lower woofers running full range up to 2.1 khz., and the upper woofers only handling the lower end of that range.
They originally sold for $3300/pr., and were considered a bargain.

The enclosures have a sand-filled lower chamber that Joseph Audio calls the Silent Box enclosure. This absorbs cabinet resonances effectively, imo. The speaker weight, 87 lbs., is 15 lbs. higher than what is listed in the factory specs as they are filled with sand. The sand can be removed if desired.

19 owner reviews, average rating 5/5(!):
http://www.audioreview.com/product/speakers/floorstanding-speakers/joseph-audio/rm25si.html

Condition:
I would rate the condition as good cosmetically, and excellent operationally and sonically.