What are your songs/tracks when you are auditioning new speakers?

rish_077

Hi

I am new to AudioCircle and I always take my Eric Clapton's Chronicle CD with me for the track 5 Layla. Somehow, I love the soundstage on it, and I feel it helps me understanding the definition of imaging from the speakers I am auditioning for.
How about you? Do you have a favorite song/track that you take for auditioning?

richidoo

Overall Musicality: Clifford Brown "I Don't Stand A Ghost of a Chance With You." B-52s "Topaz." Basie at Birdland "Segue in C." Devo "Whip It"
Tonal accuracy: Prokofiev, Lt Kije Suite, 3rd mvmt, Antal Dorati/Netherlands Radio.
Bass/room: Marc Johnson - Overpass
Mids/harmonics: Julia Fisher-Bach Sonatas, solo piano: Ingrid Fliter/Yulianna Avdeeva/Jam Lisiecki/etc
Treble: accordion, Dizzy Gillespie w/harmon mute
HiFiNess: Tom Tom Club "Genius of Love", Peter Gabriel "Growing Up"

MttBsh

A track I heard this summer at the Pacific NW Audio fest that really impressed me was "The Man In The Long Black Coat" performed by Bob Dylan (it was apparently written by Willy Nelson). Anyway, it features some amazing echo guitar, harmonica and deep, deep bass. Playing it at home on QOBUZ sounds almost as good as it did on the system in that mega$$ showroom.

twitch54

Chuck Mangione - 'Children of Sanchez'

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28ds69kqY8s

rollo

• Industry Participant
  • Rollo Audio Consulting -
Overall Musicality: Clifford Brown "I Don't Stand A Ghost of a Chance With You." B-52s "Topaz." Basie at Birdland "Segue in C." Devo "Whip It"
Tonal accuracy: Prokofiev, Lt Kije Suite, 3rd mvmt, Antal Dorati/Netherlands Radio.
Bass/room: Marc Johnson - Overpass
Mids/harmonics: Julia Fisher-Bach Sonatas, solo piano: Ingrid Fliter/Yulianna Avdeeva/Jam Lisiecki/etc
Treble: accordion, Dizzy Gillespie w/harmon mute
HiFiNess: Tom Tom Club "Genius of Love", Peter Gabriel "Growing Up"

Excellent choices.

charles

mix4fix

• Facilitator