Introduction

justinstephenson

Introduction
« on: 27 Jul 2021, 02:12 pm »
Hello,

I have just joined Audio Circle with an interest in DIY speakers. I am a film professional by trade and have spent a lot of time in studios, post suites,  and mixing theatres. My home listening preferences lean towards a slightly rounder version of "monitor" - I like to hear production choices in recordings. I have a deep fondness for near field listening.

I have been devouring Danny's youtube videos - they're really fantastic. I find them entertaining and informative. I have spent some time modifying headphones and making cables to satifying effect. Speaker have always felt out of reach for a modest DIY enthusiast like myself, though. Danny's videos go a long way towards demystifying speaker construction and modification.

In my main system I run a pair of Harbeth P3ESR XDs with a REL t7i from a Heed Obelisk SI III and Soekris 2541 fed from a PI2AES. I've had a few different speakers in that system over the years: the original P3s, a pair of B&W 606s, Dynaudio M20s, the larger Harbeth C7ES3s and now back to the P3s. They're my ideal for my usage: great imaging, great midrange, great detail rendering, and they don't wake up the family when I'm listening at night.

I have a very modest second system that is in our kitchen/dining area that is currently a pair of Mission LX-2s and a NAD D3020 V2. It is really for ambient listening. I am thinking about perhaps building or modding a pair of speakers for that system to elevate it a bit, though. The challenge is that the speakers sit on a bookshelf right against the wall. I had P3s up there at one point and they were great, with their sealed box. The LX-2 do an admirable job with the ports plugged, but I think I can do better.

In any event, I am excited to read through this thread.

hawkeyejw

Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: 27 Jul 2021, 08:08 pm »