Servo Sub Build

russellberg

Servo Sub Build
« on: 1 Jun 2020, 04:54 am »
Well, I am brand new to this and I am ever having a good time.  I started with Danny's entry level servo sub kit and is it ever something else!  I have never really experienced a proper sub and its kind of blowing my mind.  I built the cabinet out of ¾" MDF and I had some ⅜" cherry left over from a small chest of drawers project so I decide to clad the box with the cherry, lots of glue and lots of clamps but I have ended up with an enclosure that feels very solid.  I do lots of woodworking and I am looking forward to learning much more about the electronics and acoustics of this work.

As I added the ⅜" of cherry to the box I ended up with more wood above the sub than in the original plans.  I am hoping that doesn't prove to be a problem.

I inset the plate of the amp so that it would mount flush.  I did this by doing the cutout first then I taped 1x4 pieces of wood around the edge of the plate amp so that they were right flush up against the metal.  Then I used a flush trim bit that has the bearing above the cutter.  I then pulled out the plate amp and ran the router around the inside of the wood frame.  This gave me a perfect cutout for the aluminum plate to mount flush.

I didn't get a wiring diagram but there was a great source here https://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=149708.0 for hooking up the sub correctly

I was really happy with the way the dark stain on the cherry turned out next to the black components.

All done and ready to be hooked up.

corndog71

• Some people call me Rob.
Re: Servo Sub Build
« Reply #1 on: 1 Jun 2020, 05:32 am »
That looks fantastic!  Great job.  :thumb:

AlexH

« Reply #2 on: 1 Jun 2020, 12:58 pm »
Great job. I love working with and the  look of cherry, just classy.  :rock:

DeeJayBump

« Reply #3 on: 1 Jun 2020, 01:35 pm »
+3

Gorgeous build, thanks for sharing.

hawkeyejw

« Reply #4 on: 1 Jun 2020, 02:18 pm »
Really beautiful work.

Hobbsmeerkat