DIY power block question

ton1313

DIY power block question
« on: 31 Dec 2003, 03:01 am »
I want to build a power block with an IEC socket so I can use the PC of my choice. I found plans on audiotweaks.com, but I am wondering how to supply surge protection? Any info or advice would be greatly appreciated. PS this is a first time DIY.

I am currently using a Monster 3500 power center & want to improve on the performance. Thus the reason for the power block.

Kevin P

• http://www.diycable.com
DIY power block question
« Reply #1 on: 1 Jan 2004, 12:09 am »
From my days working as a computer hardware tech I'm fond of saying there is no such thing as surge protection.  I've seen lightening strikes melt the wiring, power supply etc... along with the surge protection devices.  

Having said that the MOVs are designed to divert some energy and protect the rest of the equipment.  I don't have any specific advice on design outside of our offering the Jon Risch power filter which includes in it's design a couple MOVs for some basic protection.   The only foolproof protection is to unplug your system during mega-storms.   The midwest seems to suffer the most.

ton1313

DIY power block question
« Reply #2 on: 1 Jan 2004, 01:51 pm »
Kevin,

Thanks for the info. Is there a way to expand the John Risch filter to have more outlets? If I were to use a JRF, would I be able to plug a power block into it & still get the sonic benefits to the remote outlets?

I basically need 8 outlets. Will this filter be able to handle major power amplifiers or is it designed for source components only? Is it easy to put together?

Thanks

Kevin P

• http://www.diycable.com
DIY power block question
« Reply #3 on: 4 Jan 2004, 10:07 am »
Lots of questions.....

Is there a way to expand the John Risch filter to have more outlets?