Odyssey with Focal?

Gt2r

Odyssey with Focal?
« on: 22 Feb 2015, 04:48 am »
Long time lurker with a freshly renewed interest in his systems.  A friend that was over was listening to music with me and asked if I would direct him on updating his system.  Always glad to spend someone else's money...
He is looking to add an amp to his new Focal 726 speakers. Like me, he uses Sonos to send AIFF files.  He lets his Onkyo handle the DAC work and HT duties.  Focal 706 and an unknown to me 10" sub finishes out his currently system. I realize there are a lot of points to address in his setup but specifically, how do Odyssey amps (likely the Khartago or possibly a Stratos) "get along" with the Focals?

Thanks in advance

GentleBender

Re: Odyssey with Focal?
« Reply #1 on: 22 Feb 2015, 12:59 pm »
I'm no expert at this point, but I am sure you can't go wrong with either the Khartago or Stratos. What is he going to use it for and how loud does he like it? How big is the room? I just started to build my first system and started with the Cyclops and Suspiro phono stage and can't believe the improvement in sound. The Cyclops is just a Khartago as an integrated amp. If he wants to use it as a HT setup he could use the Stratos HT-3 so he could add his center channel to balance out the front, it is only a $300 difference that adds an additional 150 watt center channel.

I just took delivery of the Cyclops and Suspiro Friday night (2/20/15) and have it connected to a $200 turntable and Polk Monitor 60 speakers that I picked up used for $125. I've had the turntable and speakers for over two years and they have never sounded great until now. Even my wife that normally doesn't get into this much was excited when she heard the difference.