Floor Standing Speakers for Low-Wattage Systems

moofoo

Floor Standing Speakers for Low-Wattage Systems
« on: 12 Dec 2023, 02:27 pm »
Going to commit to a low-wattage systems but I have no experience with such. I am honing in on a 15 watt amp (rated at 15), but need suggestions for floor standing, high efficiency speakers. Thank you for your time. I do appreciate it! - Louie

musicdre

• reality is the base
    • art site
Re: Floor Standing Speakers for Low-Wattage Systems
« Reply #1 on: 12 Dec 2023, 07:52 pm »
many models of Klipsch, and my Spatial M3s run well on 13 watts. 

PS the sensitivity ratings of speakers are not always a great way to tell how they will actually peroform with a particular amp

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #2 on: 12 Dec 2023, 08:21 pm »
Ops, consider any hi sensitivity speaker.
Hard tô beat Klipsch for the price (monitors).
« Last Edit: 13 Dec 2023, 03:12 pm by FullRangeMan »

JMW73

« Reply #3 on: 12 Dec 2023, 11:42 pm »
I'm running Klipsch RP-600 M (bookshelves) on ACA monos (15 watts) and it sounds very good.  I'm sure you could find something in that range.

I'd look seriously at Tekton. 

I really looked hard at Zu Audio as well.

FireGuy

« Reply #4 on: 13 Dec 2023, 02:08 am »
Omega Speaker Systems.  Really nice sounding speakers and an easy match with your amp.

https://omegaloudspeakers.com/collections/tower-speakers

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #5 on: 13 Dec 2023, 01:57 pm »
Why a floor standing speaker? 

20 years ago I ended my search for "full range" high efficiency speakers (couldn't find one I liked) so I settled for a 90 dB/w/m Fostex F200a driven transmission line (the driver when last available was $579 each) and drove them with 40 watt mono-blocks.