Nitrogen in car tires?

ctviggen

Nitrogen in car tires?
« on: 2 Sep 2007, 10:57 am »
I can't quite decide whether the claims here are bunk or real:

Get Nitrogen

Nonetheless, I paid $8/tire to have nitrogen put in the wife's car.  If the nitrogen really does leak out at a slower rate and not react so much to temperature changes (though with PV=nRT, it's gotta react somewhat) as much, it's worthwhile. 

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
Re: Nitrogen in car tires?
« Reply #1 on: 2 Sep 2007, 11:10 am »
Belle Tire (out of Detroit) has been pushing nitrogen as a way to avoid rusting of alloy wheels where the rims seal to the tire/stem.  But I hadn't heard of other advantages.  Hum.....

Nels Ferre

« Reply #2 on: 2 Sep 2007, 12:27 pm »
I work in the trucking industry, and nitrogen is becoming more widespread, as tires are one of the biggest non fuel vehicle expenses.

I have seen longer tire wear (measured) and fewer blow outs. Additionally, I have seen slightly better fuel mileage. (Less than 1 mpg, but still measurable.)

I run nitrogen in the tires on both my car and motorcycle, and do believe I can feel a slightly harsher ride. (Subjective)

It appears to me (again subjective) that when/if a tire blows, there seems be be an increase in damage to the surrounding assemblies.
« Last Edit: 2 Sep 2007, 12:42 pm by Nels Ferré »

Bob in St. Louis

• Volunteer
  • "Introverted Basement Dwelling Troll"
« Reply #3 on: 2 Sep 2007, 12:38 pm »
With all due respect to those of you that use it, this has got to be one of the silliest things I've see done to a passenger car. Thanks for the link Bob, but I can't find it in my heart to read why I'll be safer, greener etc... using Nitrogen.