Different Mfg Signature Sounds

fishboat

Different Mfg Signature Sounds
« on: 4 Nov 2016, 10:01 pm »
I'm continuing my research on a gift home theater sounds system..reference this http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=146295.0 recent thread.

I'm attempting to visit local stores to hear a number of the sound bars and smaller 5.1 systems. So far it hasn't been easy even coming close to the make/models I'd like to hear. 

In 2 channel (music) audio, different manufactures have different signature sounds. I expect this is true in HT also. Years ago I had a couple different Klipsch models..very nice sound, great for acoustic music, but in the end, I found them fatiguing to listen to longer term. I've had Snell Type A3's and Vandersteens..I like their sound very much.  Thiel has always sounded 'dry' to me.  I know this is all very subjective and everyone hears/likes something different.

I have no experience with Polk, but I did hear a $350 Polk soundbar today..didn't sound bad.  Didn't care for JBL.  Klipsch Ref..? ($700) sounded clean, but probably not for me.

Anyhow..my question..does anyone have a feeling for home theater mfg signature sound?  I'm looking for a Snell/Vandersteen type of presentation.  Who sounds like them? From what I heard briefly today..Polk might be in that category.  Just because a system is loud and boomy, it doesn't make it good. I'd prefer better quality sound over simple loudness.  I sort of like the Sony 780 sound bar due to the inputs..but I'd like to hear one before I buy.  Anyone have an idea how it sounds?  Zvox 670, 770? Other suggestions? (max $500ish, soundbar preferably with separate sub, or Pioneer SP-BS22 L/R/C/sub)   

Phil A

Re: Different Mfg Signature Sounds
« Reply #1 on: 5 Nov 2016, 12:14 am »
I don't have any experience with soundbars but you may want to look at sites like - https://www.cnet.com/topics/speakers/best-speakers/sound-bars/
even if it is just for ideas.