New Autoformer Pre-amp - thoughts from a UK owner

Peter UK

New Autoformer Pre-amp - thoughts from a UK owner
« on: 19 May 2008, 08:04 pm »
I put my name down a while ago asking John for one of the new autoformer pre-amps and took delivery last week of what I assume to be the 5th one off the line, judging by the sticker on the bottom.

Firstly, a big thank you John for the great communication from first contact through to it arriving and for sending one to the UK when he must have a lot of orders from North America  :D

The sound is great, very open, transparent and spacious - all that you would want from a passive pre-amp.  The only comparison I can make is with a Music First Audio Copper TVC Classic which I have been using for a few months and on swapping could not hear any immediate difference.  On further listening there is a difference in the lower range with the TVC having greater extension and control.  It has a an altogether more solid sound.  Suffice to say I am not a hifi reviewer but I like this better than the MFA.

The MFA I borrowed from my brother, as although we both really like it, the lack of a remote was a pain.  Its is so nice to have full remote capability back and a great sounding passive pre-amp. (of course an alternative may have been the Music First Audio TVC Reference which has a remote.  Cost?  9,000 UKP or about 18,000 USD - don't know how they justify this) 

The quality and finish of the autoformer pre-amp are excellent.  Altogether a really great piece of kit.  I am sooooo happy.

Previous to the MFA pre-amp I was using a Rega Cursa 3. 

The rest of my equipment is a Naim CD5X with external power supply, pair of Rega Exon 3 monoblocks, ProAc 1sc speakers and Rel 305 sub.  Interconnects are Kimber KCAG from CD to pre and pre to power.  Cables to speakers and sub are Kimber 8TC.  Kimber ref power cords throughout.

If you have one of these autoformer pre-amps on order then you will find out what I mean.