Hello from a not so newbie.

buddyiramae

Hello from a not so newbie.
« on: 24 Aug 2010, 07:31 pm »
I just registered, finally. Hello, folks! Been lurking here a long time. I've always been a planar guy but due to new room acoustics, I'll be going back to my trusty, vintage Super Tower/Rs. They interact very well in my small music room.
It will like rediscovering the sound of VMPS. I've had them since 1995 but was stored in my stereo closet for the last ten years. I'll post my findings in the coming weeks as I play with them. Thanks in advance for accepting me.

Mike in Terrell Tx

Venkman

Re: Hello from a not so newbie.
« Reply #1 on: 25 Aug 2010, 01:42 am »
Welcome Mike!

You must have a big closet!   

I'm a bit of a newbie here myself.  It's nice to have another /R owner on the forum.  I look forward to your posts on getting them settled in to your new room. 

After sitting so long they may be in need of a refoam.  I had to refoam the drivers and passives on mine (Super Tower /Rs circa 93 I believe.)  Best of luck getting them up and singing!

wywires

« Reply #2 on: 25 Aug 2010, 02:02 am »
Welcome. The VMPS Supertower/R were my first high end speakers. As I recall they started out as Supertowers and then the R revision was added by me with Brian's help. This was in 1984!

In 1987, I "upgraded" to Snell Type C and then lot's of other stuff but my fondest memories of music listening was with VMPS. Great stuff!!!! I plan to go back after CES.

Cheers!

John Casler

« Reply #3 on: 25 Aug 2010, 04:03 am »
Hi Mike.

Guess I'll join the welcoming committee and echo the glad to have you here chorus.

It is great to have such a rich representation of B's past designs.

Hard to think of a living designer with this kind of following (Maybe Jim Winey of Magnaplanar, but his designs have been rather static from the beginning)