Running REW for Current set up for the first time

ebag4

Running REW for Current set up for the first time
« on: 26 Aug 2018, 01:28 am »
Between Mike's recent thread on REW and Danny's 'Room Room Room' thread, I was inspired to measure my system, something I have been wanting to do for a few months.  I am just getting started, first time using REW with this equipment, Dayton UMM-6 USB mic, MacBook Pro using it's optical out into my Vinnie Rossi LIO DAC 2.0 optical input.

The room is 16'x28'x cathedral ceiling up to 10'.  The room is open to two other spaces; 8'x'11' and 7.5'x6.5' both with 8' ceilings.  The only sound treatment is a pair of PiAudio Diffusers, one behind each speaker. I sit about 8' from each speaker.  The speakers are 49" from the front of the baffle to the front wall.

I located the microphone at the listening seat and just worked with the right speaker this go around.  Most graphs are with both the Otica and the sub running, I did take one with the Otica only.

Here are the readings with various changes made to phase settings, moving the speaker and changing toe in:

R Otica Only

R Combined, Phase 0

R Combined, Phase 0, no toe in

R Combined, Ph 90

R Combined , Ph 180

R Combined, Ph 180, Speaker moved front baffle 43" from front wall

If anything occurs to you how I might tame the 40 Hz peak or the dip at 63 Hz please throw it at me. Right now it appears that thing got worse when I moved the speaker from it's original location (2nd graph).

Best,
Ed

HAL

• Industry Contributor
Re: Running REW for Current set up for the first time
« Reply #1 on: 26 Aug 2018, 01:50 am »
You should be able to use the parametric EQ on the servo amps to drop the 40Hz peak down by adjusting the controls.   You can adjust the controls and take measurements to find the correct settings.  Do one channel at a time as you did here.

I would just turn on the subs without the mains to adjust controls first then add in the mains for a check.