New to AudioCircle

audiojanitor

New to AudioCircle
« on: 3 Feb 2024, 01:05 am »
Hello everyone,

I am Audiojanitor, semi-retired. My background is location recording, studio recording, live sound FOH. Recently renovating our house and plan to update the acoustic elements in my modest studio. Always excited about learning new and old design concepts for small room acoustics. Does anyone have experience with low profile bass traps such as RPG plate resonator bass traps, MLV type such as Acoustic Geometry CornerSorbers, or PSI AVAA.
The room dimensions I have to work around will be approximately 21' 10'' Long, 12' 5" wide, with an 8' ceiling. Old lath and plaster, wood floors. I am not sure of much of the design yet, however I will likely need some bass trapping.

Thanks, and looking forward to meeting everyone.

Randy

Rob Babcock

• Facilitator
Re: New to AudioCircle
« Reply #1 on: 4 Feb 2024, 12:36 pm »
Welcome, Randy!

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 4 Feb 2024, 01:21 pm »
Welcome!

Have you done any room measurements?  Do you have loudspeakers in mind?  What's your budget?  Is the room well insulated?

I included a listening studio in the basement when we built a house 18 years ago.  The room is 8ft x 13ft x 21ft (close to yours and in Golden Rectange proportions).  Walls/ceiling are well insulated (interior partitions are staggered stud construction).  Floor is carpet /pad over slab on grade/insulation.  Included an exterior insulated fiberglass door with weather seals and flexible/lined/insulated ductwork.  The first few days it was spooky quiet and can't hear the furnace.  Compared to the rest of the house it cost no more to build.
« Last Edit: 5 Feb 2024, 02:00 pm by JLM »

audiojanitor

« Reply #3 on: 5 Feb 2024, 03:27 am »
Hello JLM,