RM40 owners Please share setup experience

alana106

« on: 1 Nov 2003, 10:40 pm »
This is my first post...I am new to AudioCircle.
Just ordered a pair of RM40s with FST tweeter upgrade (but no cap upgrade) from John Casler in Los Angeles. (Nice Guy) Any initial setup tips would be appreciated. Could anyone elaborate on tuning the PR for bass response, or recommend a CD they used. I will be using these in a 27' by 19' room with vaulted ceiling. Due to WAF they MUST be placed on the short wall about 12' apart and my listening point is about 17' away.
These replace my PSB Stratus Gold's, and I plan to retain my Kimber 8tc biwire cables and existing components for now. Bryston 4bst, Rogue 66 Magnum preamp, Msb dac with p1000 PS, etc. Anyone’s recommendations or comments would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Alan :)

warnerwh

« Reply #1 on: 2 Nov 2003, 03:28 am »
The bass damping is over damped as it comes from the factory so more than likely some putty will have to be removed. Most people end up with a pea to lima bean size piece when they're done adjusting.  Removing a fingernail full at a time and then listening for improvement. You should have instructions on this that will come with your speakers. It's something that takes a little time to learn to do. Also you'll notice removing putty from the passive will also affect the midrange so it's a bit of a balancing act too.  Did you hear these speakers yet?  T
hey will need some breakin time too so I wouldn't pull out  more than a bb sized piece of putty at first.  Brian recommends having the speakers cross in front of you a couple of feet and I've found this is just about right. I believe it's John Casler though that like them facing directly at him.  In a room like yours I suspect having them cross in front of you is going to be the best bet, especially if you must have them 12 feet apart and sitting 17 feet back.  Another advantage of having them angled in like that is there's less reflections off of walls. Cheers