How is CES for listening to equipment?

JeffB

How is CES for listening to equipment?
« on: 3 Jan 2008, 09:19 pm »
With CES next week, and the fact that I found some inexpensive rooms for the last 2 days of the show I am somewhat thinking about going.
I have never been to CES and I have no idea what the experience would be like for listening to Audio.
I don't know how easy it is to get any kind of listening session with the equipment.  I realize the rooms are probably not set up optimally, but are there even rooms or just space out on a big open floor.  Would turning up the music annoy everybody around?  Or does everybody have the music up everywhere so that you are competing to here over one another?
Any thoughts on audio listening at CES would be appreciated.

zybar

• Volunteer
  • Dutch and Dutch 8C's…yes they are that good!
Re: How is CES for listening to equipment?
« Reply #1 on: 3 Jan 2008, 09:48 pm »
Show conditions can be very iffy and I would expect to not hear the best that the assembled gear can produce.

Of course there are exceptions to this and some rooms do sound very good.

Depending on the setup, you can have music bleed over from room to room.

I suggest you simply enjoy seeing all the great gear and meeting the vendors.  Talking to the vendors is usually an equal or better experience than listening to the gear.

George

Grover

« Reply #2 on: 3 Jan 2008, 10:20 pm »
Zybar wrote:
I suggest you simply enjoy seeing all the great gear and meeting the vendors.  Talking to the vendors is usually an equal or better experience than listening to the gear.

I totally agree with the above.  Keep in mind though, that CES is supposed to be for industry members.  Everyone knows that many consumers show up as well, I just make sure I'm courteous and don't waste anyone's time.