CI Audio E200S Amplifier Experience

charliehatch

CI Audio E200S Amplifier Experience
« on: 7 Jun 2015, 06:36 pm »
Hi Everybody,

I'm new to this post, and I hope I push all the right buttons...And, a caveat to all you people who are deep into audiophilism. I love good sound, but my experience with very high end systems is limited. What I am going to describe is my experience with what I consider a moderately priced high-end system, certainly not the best money can buy. For me, money is an object.

As part of an overall system upgrade, I recently purchased a CI Audio E200S amp, and I want to share my experience.

My system as it exists today:

Oppo BDP-105D > Morrow Audio MA7 balanced interconnects > CI Audio E200S (26 dB) > Morrow Audio SP7 speaker cables (banana) > B&W 683 S2 speakers (8 Ohm, 200 W capability). The Oppo also sends sub out to a Hsu ULS-15 powered subwoofer. A 2.1 guy am I. All source is digital.

The 26 dB option on the amp is a very good fit to this system. I use the Oppo as a preamp and typically run a volume level of 65/100. Your mileage may vary.

Because of room mode issues, I have the main speaker crossover set in the Oppo to 120 Hz. The sub crossover is set around 80 Hz. This creates a response dip that helps to balance out a nasty room mode around 100 Hz. Because of this setup, I'm not pushing the amp very hard at all, so I can't comment on bass power. I didn't buy it for that; I wanted plenty of headroom and very low distortion.

About the time I ordered the amp, I ordered Morrow Audio MA7 balanced interconnects. These would take about a month, so in the interim, I installed new Better Cables Silver Serpent 2 balanced interconnects (~$100 Amazon) as a temporary measure. So when the amp arrived I started listening with brand new cables. Not as scientific as I could have been.