# of copies of the same album? ....to get an acceptable copy

low.pfile

Hey Vinyl Veterans,

I'm new to vinyl (1 year+). I am seeing a trend that is scaring me: I am needing to buy more than one copy of an album, to get an acceptable version.

I've been listening to lots of my vinyl lately...I am now finding some less than acceptable. My collection, some dollar bin/used but some purchased at reputable places online with NM grade which look great, and unscratched,  but when played I am finding that they have lots of wear = surface noise and/or slight repetative clicks. Therefore,  I am considering buying another version of that album that  I want on vinyl. A few soft pops and clicks are fine. But, also, I just bought a sealed, new version of Gotan Project online and it is warped, that I will be returning. Of the few albums I have (60ish albums so far, 10 in the last month) I've already bought 3 replacement copies of albums. That trend is not something I am not looking forward to.

BTW I use a MoFi cleaners (regular and deep) and KAB vac cleaner so I get them pretty darn clean. Old records get a double or triple wash. And I have some bargin bin records that sound great.

So I am wondering how many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop... Do all of you vinyl fanatics buy many copies to find the gem or buy only super mint?   

I really like the vinyl playback process and don't want to spend 1 hour "preparing" to play everytime I want to listen- to me, it ruins part of the experience.

cheers, ed

....going to listen to my new just arrived version of Band of Horses (that one may have been my fault, a scuff on inner tracks makes me think I was sloppy with handling the record)

toocool4

Re: # of copies of the same album? ....to get an acceptable copy
« Reply #1 on: 17 Mar 2009, 10:10 am »