Song3 and Upgrades....

DFpritchard

Song3 and Upgrades....
« on: 19 Mar 2022, 09:14 pm »
I have been listening to my Song3s for about 3 years now and have changed/upgraded nearly everything.  Recent post about Song3 Encore and cables/power conditioning inspired me to share my various changes and the perceived differences/improvements.

1. About a month ago, changed out Richard Gray Power Company for new Audioquest Niagara 1200.  Not an audible difference but I feel better with newer technology between the outlet and gear.  I think of this as insurance, not an upgrade to music listening.
2. About 3 months ago, replaced Marantz 8005 CD/SACD for Luxman D-05x.  Revelatory!  Huge improvements in imaging, clarity, tonal purity (Not sure what I mean by this except every CD/SACD sounds much 'better').
3. Over time, changed out miscellaneous speaker, power and interconnects for less expensive Anticables.  Noticeable improvement, great value in terms of return on investment for 'better' sound.
4. 2 years ago, replaced Parasound Halo integrated with Wells Majestic with Level 2 mods (Bybee stuff).  Big improvement in dynamics and noise floor.  The Majestic is Super Quiet! and overall a great, under appreciated integrated amp.
5. About a month ago, changed out Herbies for Isoacoustic Gaia 2 with carpet spikes.  Still looking for words to describe the improvement in what I hear coming out of the Song3s.  Only thing I can think of is cataract surgery for the ears.  Much wider and deeper sound stage.  Real 'the musicians are in the room' feeling.  At roughly $900, the Gaias are not inexpensive but they are superlative value.