Lampizator and Turntables

bonzo75

Lampizator and Turntables
« on: 13 Apr 2015, 12:43 pm »
This thread is for Lampi B7 fans, wanted to know if you had/have a Turntable, or have compared the Big 7 to a TT (where you are also a seasoned TT fan), and if so, what were your observations, and which TT was it that you compared it to?

Thanks. Reason for the post is I am not interested in any other dacs or CD players. Have also compared B7 to a Trinity and I was very happy. so next thing in audio is, what can a TT do better than a Lampi, if at all, especially on classical and opera? I am a TT noob

sfox7076

Re: Lampizator and Turntables
« Reply #1 on: 13 Apr 2015, 02:38 pm »
I think that a properly set up high end turntable with a great cartridge, all of the associated cabling, a good phono preamp, a good pressing of the recording and a well cleaned record can best the Lampi Big 7.  You will spend $20k getting to a rig that can best the Lampi (a cheaper table (except maybe used or a Teres) isn't getting there), spend time setting it up, spend tons of time looking for proper pressings and cleaning the records.  And you will still get surface noise/pops...  Who has the time for all of that?  So, in other words, you can beat it, but it will become the bane of your existence to do so.

bonzo75

« Reply #2 on: 13 Apr 2015, 02:42 pm »
Yes, but like any hifi addict I need a new journey.

dminches

« Reply #3 on: 13 Apr 2015, 06:56 pm »
To me, if you like the sound of records and reels no DAC will reproduce that.  On the other hand, who is looking for that.  Both analog and digital formats have their place in my system.

Geardaddy

« Reply #4 on: 13 Apr 2015, 07:04 pm »
great thread.  I love my 7 and feel its the closest digital product on the market to true "analog" sound.  That being said, I don't currently own a table but still want one.