Erik Satie?

amadeus916

• Aperion Audio
Erik Satie?
« on: 4 Jan 2008, 06:46 pm »
Anybody listen to pieces done by this guy? They are some of the most amazingly haunting, yet somewhat simplistic piano pieces I have heard...

If you haven't checked out his works, you should! And if you have checked out his stuff (enter the real reason of this post) can you suggest anything in a similar vein? Being a pianist myself I'm always on the lookout for inspiration, and this guy does it for me and then some...

woodsyi

• Volunteer
  • Always Look on the Bright Side of Life!
Re: Erik Satie?
« Reply #1 on: 4 Jan 2008, 07:44 pm »
I actually think music was just incidental to his social life.  He was a polymath, bon vivant and a rogue.  I like his music but not much depth there.   Edit:  I don't mean to be dismissive of his work.   I like his Socrate, commissioned by a real life lesbian princess to have only female voice, the best (my female vocal bias).  Debussy is probably the closest musically on account of Satie's supposed influence on young Debussy.
« Last Edit: 4 Jan 2008, 08:31 pm by woodsyi »

BobM

« Reply #2 on: 4 Jan 2008, 07:51 pm »
There was an album done way back in the dark ages (perhaps the late 60's - early 70's) called the Electronic Spirit of Eric Satie. It obviously used synth's to interpret his haunting music. Made it more so in my opinion..

Good luck with your search,
Bob
« Last Edit: 8 Jan 2008, 08:41 pm by BobM »

amadeus916

• Aperion Audio
« Reply #3 on: 4 Jan 2008, 08:42 pm »
I like his music but not much depth there

Mmmm...That's my favorite part I think. The music is seemingly simple, not tons of layers...Just sparse, beautifully played keys. There's a group called Deaf Center who do stuff like that, but make use of more electronic sounds that I'm really into as well.

Bob, I'll have to check out what you suggested...sounds great!

jazzcan

« Reply #4 on: 4 Jan 2008, 09:32 pm »