RM 5 MK II Pre-amp Question (MC Cartridge Adapability)

mrdrumbeat

Hi!
I am new to Audio Circle and I need a little guidance.
I have a RM 5 MK II Pre-amp that Roger recently upgraded.  It sounds great!
My question is, I have always used MM cartridges. I now want to try MC cartridges but according to the owners manual, the RM 5 MK II is not set up to run MC cartridges.  What are my choices with this pre-amp to make the transition into MC Cartridges?
Thanks,
Mike

Roger A. Modjeski

Re: RM 5 MK II Pre-amp Question (MC Cartridge Adapability)
« Reply #1 on: 5 Oct 2013, 06:12 pm »
Hi!
I am new to Audio Circle and I need a little guidance.
I have a RM 5 MK II Pre-amp that Roger recently upgraded.  It sounds great!
My question is, I have always used MM cartridges. I now want to try MC cartridges but according to the owners manual, the RM 5 MK II is not set up to run MC cartridges.  What are my choices with this pre-amp to make the transition into MC Cartridges?
Thanks,
Mike

Hi MIke,

I just approved you and welcome to audio circle.  Actually the RM-5 will work with many MC cartridges as it has a very quiet phono section. As long as you get enough gain in your overall system there is no problem. People often assume you need a step-up for MC but this is not always the case as the gain of your power amp and sensitivity of your speakers also figures in. Also keep in mind your listening level figures in largely. If you listen at 75 dB verses someone who listens at 95 dB that's 20 dB less gain you need. Also at lower levels noise is less of an issue.