Re: Just saying hi => Omega questions => Super 7 XRS on the way! => Now Here!!

pstrisik

• Holding pattern in Audio Nirvana in the PNW!
Hi all,

I have on order a handmade by Dennis Had 12wpc single ended KT150 based amp.  (Dennis Had is the designer of the Cary tube products.  I have his SLP-05 preamp and absolutely love it.  He also designed the Cary CAD-805 series amps.)

Dennis claims it will power most cone based speakers fine.  I'm skeptical though I will give it a shot.  I have restored AR2ax'.  They are at 87db / 8 ohms.  AR says minimum 20watts - this was stated around 1970.  Great experiment and experience in any case.

So, Omegas may be in my future!  :wink:  I have no experience with single ended amps or full range drivers, but I like what I am reading.  And looking around at the options, Omegas draw me the most. 

Oh... I'm running a Conrad-Johnson Premier 11A (70wpc p-p amp) between the Cary SLP-05 and the AR2ax'. 

« Last Edit: 31 May 2014, 04:58 pm by pstrisik »

FireGuy

Re: Just saying hi . . .
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jan 2014, 01:49 am »
Hi all,

I have on order a handmade by Dennis Had 12wpc single ended KT150 based amp.  (Dennis Had is the designer of the Cary tube products.  I have his SLP-05 preamp and absolutely love it.  He also designed the Cary CAD-805 series amps.)

Dennis claims it will power most cone based speakers fine.  I'm skeptical though I will give it a shot.  I have restored AR2ax'.  They are at 87db / 8 ohms.  AR says minimum 20watts - this was stated around 1970.  Great experiment and experience in any case.

So, Omegas may be in my future!  :wink:  I have no experience with single ended amps or full range drivers, but I like what I am reading.  And looking around at the options, Omegas draw me the most. 

Oh... I'm running a Conrad-Johnson Premier 11A (70wpc p-p amp) between the Cary SLP-05 and the AR2ax'.