AC Power Cable upgrade on xtreme monos?

PinotBob

« on: 31 Jul 2003, 07:33 pm »
Forgive me as I am new at this... :o  I am on the waiting list for a pair of extreme monos. In reading the posts, I haven't seen reference to AC power cable upgrades. Is there any benefit here or is it just high priced hype?

Also, I trust my decision on the x/monos to you in the forum and conversations with Klause. Hopefully I haven't gone off the deep end again. The last time I trusted someone on line, he took my $4k savings and left the country  :( .

PB

Marbles

« Reply #1 on: 31 Jul 2003, 07:38 pm »
Well if you paid Klaus already, I have to let you know he went back to Germany......

but he will be back in about a week :-)

Klaus uses heavier duty power cords than most amp manufacturers so the upgrade from those may not be as big as if they were cheap 16ga computer type power cables some amp makers use.

Having said that PC's can make a difference.

TheeeChosenOne

« Reply #2 on: 31 Jul 2003, 08:17 pm »
PinoBob,

http://venhaus1.com/VH_Audio_Test.html

Chris VenHaus makes great PCs.  His reviews are numerously raved.  So much so that he started his own company.

I added a Flavor 2 PC to my Odyssey Dual Mono amp.  What can I say?  It made me a believer!  The bass of my speakers came into more control and was deeper.  It's one of the best upgrade/tweaks I've ever done to my system!

The money back guarantee, sensible price, and rave reviews make it a no-brainer to try.

P.S.  You a wine man?  What are your favorite wines in the sensible price category (red or white)?

MaxCast

« Reply #3 on: 31 Jul 2003, 08:32 pm »
We'll tell ya but ya gotta send out some vino to us first  :wink:

What cable comes with the Mono's?  I received a Quatro Ref with my amp.  Is this the "standard" PC?  I've only tried a few PC's with my amp and found the BolderCables Nitro to be a bit better than the Quatro.

Ferdi

« Reply #4 on: 31 Jul 2003, 10:28 pm »