VMPS Larger crossover settings

TRE

VMPS Larger crossover settings
« on: 31 Dec 2018, 06:22 pm »
I have done quite a bit of research but am reading opinions all over the place on this. You guys know way more about these speakers than I do so I thought I would get some advice that comes with real life VMPS experience. I have the RM40s and two of the larger vertical subs, these are not the mega woofers and the internal crossovers were bypassed by the previous owner. What is a good starting point for the crossover setting? I am thinking 50-80 Hz ballpark. I know there are probably a lot of variables involved. These are being used for two channel music listening. I am planning to use the original passive crossovers in the RM40s for now since I am on a budget so I am thinking of just passing the frequencies above the sub crossover setting to them. I apologize if I am not speaking correctly I am new to this and trying to learn. If it helps I am using an Adcom GFP500 preamp and Adcom GFA555 amp for the RM40s and was planning to use a second GFA555 for the subs. I already have this preamp and the amps which is why I am going this way. I will probably upgrade in the future. Can you recommend a good budget oriented crossover (under $1000)? Thanks in advance and Happy New Year!

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: VMPS Larger crossover settings
« Reply #1 on: 31 Dec 2018, 06:36 pm »
What is a good starting point for the crossover setting?
The best adjusting is what your ears like more.
I will decline to comment spend this plenty of money on ''budget'' xovers.

Evoke

• Industry Participant
    • EVOKE Planar Loudspeakers
« Reply #2 on: 31 Dec 2018, 06:55 pm »