New to the circle

jfh

New to the circle
« on: 7 Aug 2018, 04:13 am »
Hello All,
I’m new to the circle,
curious about anyone’s comments on why and how a circuit designer chooses a certain tube,  and does it really matter considering how many great amps have very different tubes. 
JFH

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New to the circle
« Reply #1 on: 7 Aug 2018, 04:18 am »
Welcome JFH :thumb:
Usually designers choose a tube for low price or plenty stocks on the market, if you are referring to power tubes they usually use ubiquitous Pentodes as KTs.

gregfisk

• Restricted
  • Us alone in the universe? sure is a waste of SPACE
« Reply #2 on: 7 Aug 2018, 07:31 am »
Welcome to AC JFH,

There are many people here who should be able to give you good input on this, me not being one of them.

The Tube o phile circle is probably a good place for a discussion about this subject, it's a great question.

I hope you enjoy your time here and it was great meeting you today :thumb:

Greg

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #3 on: 7 Aug 2018, 10:23 am »
Again, I'm no tube expert, but tubes come in many different designs and built qualities from many different companies.  Cost is only a very rough guide to quality, but different circuit designs dictate which tubes can be used.  Tube rolling, swapping out one set of tubes for another usually changes the sound of the preamp, buffer, or power amp.  Perhaps someone can recommend a tube handbook that explains the differences in basic tube circuits and why certain tubes are used in them.  In my experience tube rolling is most effective in power amp output circuits.