Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 6987 times.

jtwrace

Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #20 on: 2 Apr 2014, 08:01 pm »
You need 2 of those packs in series (24v).
What packs?

virtue

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1197
  • Making audio lovers audiophiles
    • Virtue Audio
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #21 on: 2 Apr 2014, 08:09 pm »
LPS - linear power supply.  Ok!  Astron has some really attractive LPS devices in the 18v+ range.

I thought you were talking about Lifpo (batteries).

jtwrace

Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #22 on: 2 Apr 2014, 10:13 pm »
LPS - linear power supply.  Ok!  Astron has some really attractive LPS devices in the 18v+ range.

I thought you were talking about Lifpo (batteries).
Yes, LPS = Linear Power Supply as you know.   ;)   I'm confused though....I asked this


Oh wow.  So it requires < 3A LPS @12Vdc?   :scratch:   


and you replied with
You definitely don't need 3A when used with high sensitivity speakers.  We have shut-down circuitry though that will prevent 12v from working with ONE.3/iMake.  You need 2 of those packs in series (24v).


So, which packs are you talking about?  Link?  If one is going to use an LPS it sounds as though one can use 24Vdc output 1A.  Yes?  Will it only work on 24Vdc or can it go say 18Vdc - 24Vdc?   :thumb:


This ONE.3 is very interesting I must say.  Hard to belive that it's actually better than the original which blew me away when I tried it. 

virtue

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1197
  • Making audio lovers audiophiles
    • Virtue Audio
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #23 on: 3 Apr 2014, 12:18 am »
You are sweet, man. 

Anything above 15v will work on the ONE.3.  Higher voltage (up to 30v) is better IMO but Vinny grew a large business on 24v so what do I know.

But for sensitive speakers, 1A will be fine.

Seth

jtwrace

Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #24 on: 3 Apr 2014, 03:27 am »
You are sweet, man. 

Anything above 15v will work on the ONE.3.  Higher voltage (up to 30v) is better IMO but Vinny grew a large business on 24v so what do I know.

But for sensitive speakers, 1A will be fine.

Seth
Gotcha.  I look forward to the Virtue ONE.3 tour.   :P

Genez

Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #25 on: 3 Apr 2014, 07:25 am »
A swappable op-amp is common in the headphone amp world.  So I'm bringing it here.  You can run the power amp itself by connecting to the line-level or pre-amplified output. 

Op-amps have different SQs.  Also, there is a mechanism to adjust the gain -- from simple buffer, 1:1, all the way up to ridiculous volumes.  There isn't a headphone you won't be able to drive with this.

Seth

I apologize Seth... I really did not read close enough to realize that it was about the iMake, not the One.3.  I was wondering what the heck an op-amp was doing in the Virtue One.3.  It made no sense.  My goof.

Thanks!     Gene


virtue

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1197
  • Making audio lovers audiophiles
    • Virtue Audio
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #26 on: 3 Apr 2014, 03:40 pm »
I was wondering what the heck an op-amp was doing in the Virtue One.3. 

Gene,

Not to confuse, but the ONE.3 actually has 2 op-amps and a non-defeatable pre-amp circuit.   It provides 2.5x gain to the amp.

iMake is a very extensible platform with a focus on headphone usage.  We had an issue with the production prototype and I took the delay as an opportunity to add some features (like configurable headphone gain) that a headphone user would want.  We can do up to 10x gain in iMake.  Yikes!

Seth

sugbob21

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 161
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #27 on: 20 May 2014, 05:58 pm »
Any update on the iMake ONE.3 ??

virtue

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1197
  • Making audio lovers audiophiles
    • Virtue Audio
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #28 on: 20 May 2014, 06:05 pm »
Our new factory got the next set of boards last week and has started building the next prototypes.  I'm counting on them being clean and at that point, we'll have some more announcements.

Customers pre-ordered around 10 units -- not enough to finance production.  Therefore, we will do some imaginative things once I have a firm ship date. 

Those who pre-ordered have been very patient with us.

velomane

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 2
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #29 on: 14 Jul 2014, 04:17 pm »
Those who pre-ordered have been very patient with us.

Yes we have, and eagerly awaiting this baby. What's the latest on ETA?

virtue

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1197
  • Making audio lovers audiophiles
    • Virtue Audio
Re: Production update ONE.3 and iMake ONE.3
« Reply #30 on: 14 Jul 2014, 09:03 pm »
I'm having a disagreement with the OEM about how long a prototype should take. 

Will update this thread as soon as I know more.