Treatment in wall/ceiling corner, but why not wall/floor?

Rob Babcock

• Facilitator
I'm a little curious- all room treatment packs from 8th Nerve to Auralex to Foam by mail all seem to treat the trihedral corners formed by the walls & ceilings.  But they all ignore the corners formed by the walls & floor.  Why is this?  Is there a different force at work here or is it simply for aethetic purposes.

The laymen acoustician in me thinks those corners would load the sound just as badly.

zybar

• Volunteer
  • Dutch and Dutch 8C's…yes they are that good!
« Reply #1 on: 10 Apr 2004, 02:21 am »
I am no expert, but I posed that exact same question to Ethan at www.realtraps.com.  Etahn told me there isn't a difference and that you can treat at those boundaries as well as the usual corner ones.

Not only did Ethan tell me this, but I was able to test his theory in my room.  8)

Out of the six MiniTraps I have in my room, three are placed at the usual corner boundaries, two are placed at the floor/wall boundary, and one is placed at the wall/ceiling boundary.  The only reason I don't have three at the wall/ceiling boundary is that I haven't had time to mount the other two.

George

Ethan Winer

• Industry Participant
  • Audio expert
    • RealTraps - The acoustic treatment experts
Re: Treatment in wall/ceiling corner, but why not wall/floor
« Reply #2 on: 10 Apr 2004, 03:53 pm »
Rob,

> Why is this? <

As George said, all corners are valid. If you think about it, there's no concept of up, down, left, or right in a room. It's like a 3D object floating around in space. The main reason you don't usually see treatment in the wall/floor corners is because it looks strange and would be in the way of foot traffic. But it's a great place for treatment behind a fabric wall or TV projector screen, or anywhere else you don't have to worry about kicking or stepping on them.

--Ethan

John Casler

« Reply #3 on: 10 Apr 2004, 04:15 pm »