Fish, V Series, and Bliss

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Fish, V Series, and Bliss
« on: 6 Oct 2010, 10:42 pm »
I'm a V2 builder and I tried a tweak today that considerably improved my enjoyment of the V2's, and it's something that's applicable to anyone that uses the P Audio Coax drivers.  In a word: reticulated foam.

OK, that's actually 2 words :)  A bit of background first.  I "love" my V2's, they solve so many issues I have with my difficult room and are so amazingly coherent and pleasant to listen to, I am truly happy with them.  But, being the person that I am, I always look to try to improve things in any system I'm using.  Toward that end, I'd recently installed some Sonicap Platinums and Gen II's in my crossovers, and the improvement in clarity and overall smoothness throughout the frequency range was impressive.

BUT, there was a very small area that did not improve, it stayed the same.  But it got more prominent/noticable because everything else had gotten better.  Sort of like when the gym teacher asks for a volunteer in gym class and everyone else except you takes a step backwards ;)

The area was what I call high-sibilance.  These are things like brass horns and SSssss sounds from women.  Not to be confused with SSShhhhh sounds, which are what I call mid-sibilance.  The V2's always had a bit of prominence with high-sibilance, but the Sonicap Platinum upgrade in the crossover just left it a bit more exposed than previously.

Trying to understand what I could do to address it, I remembered from removing the tweeters previously that the P-Audio engineers that manufacture the coax drivers Danny uses, had VERY cleverly integrated a waveguide on the tweeter portion of the unit in the center of the midrange driver.  I also stumbled across this thread on diyaudio.com - http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/151376-homster-how-i-learned-how-fix-horn.html