Making A Fine Cup

2bigears

Making A Fine Cup
« on: 10 Mar 2016, 03:54 pm »
 :D   Hi all you fine brew sippers ,, I've been doing the AeroPress thing for more than a few years now in combo with a Burr grinder.
           It's a fine brew maker.  But since then. Is there a new and better device as time always makes better things with the collective
              workings of all people on earth ,,,,  :D :D    just wondering ,,

mick wolfe

Re: Making A Fine Cup
« Reply #1 on: 10 Mar 2016, 04:26 pm »
As much as I like the AeroPress, I've found the little Melitta 1-cup pour-through an excellent alternative. Picked one up at Ace one day for 4 or 5 bucks. Uses a #2 cone filter and is a breeze to clean up compared to the Aero. Just requires a decent tea kettle with spout that allows for a gentle slow pour.

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
« Reply #2 on: 10 Mar 2016, 04:29 pm »
There is another model out there, but its name escapes me. The crazy thing is I just showed it to my wife about 7 hours ago while we were in the coffee roaster's shop.  :duh: It's more expensive than the Aeropress, and it's more elegant looking. I'll ask about it tomorrow.

How does the Aeropress coffee/espresso compare to the stovetop style espresso maker? I've been using a stovetop model in our flat in Taiwan for the last couple years. It's not as good as my Rancilio Silvia II, but it's better than drip.

Nick77

« Reply #3 on: 10 Mar 2016, 04:40 pm »
As much as I like the AeroPress, I've found the little Melitta 1-cup pour-through an excellent alternative. Picked one up at Ace one day for 4 or 5 bucks. Uses a #2 cone filter and is a breeze to clean up compared to the Aero. Just requires a decent tea kettle with spout that allows for a gentle slow pour.