Bryston BDA 1 tweaks / mods?

raytam

Bryston BDA 1 tweaks / mods?
« on: 26 Jan 2024, 08:24 pm »
I picked up a used BDA 1 for a good price - it's a definite improvement over my previous DAC, but given its age, I was wondering if Bryston offers any factory mods with upgraded parts.  I'd also be interested in hearing from owners of Bryston BDA's about any tweaks they're using to improve sound quality.

R. Daneel

Re: Bryston BDA 1 tweaks / mods?
« Reply #1 on: 27 Jan 2024, 12:04 pm »
I picked up a used BDA 1 for a good price - it's a definite improvement over my previous DAC, but given its age, I was wondering if Bryston offers any factory mods with upgraded parts.  I'd also be interested in hearing from owners of Bryston BDA's about any tweaks they're using to improve sound quality.

Hello!

I am by no means an expert in this area but I think it would be difficult to improve upon the BDA-1, or any Bryston D-A convertor for that matter. The reason being, all components in the output stage of the device (analogue circuit after the actual D-A chip) are SMT (surface-mount technology). This typically means the components are tiny and difficult to replace “by hand”. Not only that but the layout of the board is designed with SMT in mind – because that’s what will be used in production. As a consequence, typical “through-hole” components simply will not fit.

I am talking about potential improvements of the analogue stage because this is where most obvious improvements can be made.

I think the power supply of the BDA-1 is more than good and so is the digital engine based on the best chips available at the time.

I haven’t seen anyone upgrading a Bryston D-A convertor and it is likely for the reasons I’ve mentioned. However, I believe Bryston used the best kind of SMD (surface mount devices) like military-spec resistors, all laid onto glass-epoxy circuit-boards. All of this is high-quality stuff so their convertors both measure good and sound good.