HD800 and LCD-2 Impressions

DaveNote

• Without music, life would be a mistake. Nietzsche
HD800 and LCD-2 Impressions
« on: 17 Aug 2011, 03:52 pm »
I'm new to AudioCircle, so please accept my apologies if I've violated a rule. I posted the following comment on the Bryston new acquisitions thread, but thought members of this circle might find it of interest:

My latest buy? Audeze LCD-2 headphones. I drive them with a Grace Designs m902 headphone amp. These are in addition to my Sennheiser HD800s. The HD800s are outstanding in terms of transparency and what I take to mean as accuracy. The LCD-2s have a less open and airy sound that reviewers call "dark". The sound is more intimate and compelling. If I were a recording engineer, I would not be without the HD800s. But compared to the LCD-2s, they are cold and clinical. I'm not a sound engineer. I'm an audiophile, which means I love the gear, but more than that, I love music. The LCD-2s are all about the music - they make it warm, punchy, exciting. I admire the HD800s, which will spend a lot of time in the box. I love the LCD-2s. They will spend a lot of time on my head, and likely connected to a Bryston BHA-1.

highfilter

Re: HD800 and LCD-2 Impressions
« Reply #1 on: 17 Aug 2011, 04:42 pm »
Thanks for the comparison. The more I read about the LCD-2s, the more they look like a bargain at their price-point.

DaveNote

« Reply #2 on: 17 Aug 2011, 07:16 pm »
Thanks for the comparison. The more I read about the LCD-2s, the more they look like a bargain at their price-point.