Tyler Acoustics Decade D2

rjryan

Tyler Acoustics Decade D2
« on: 12 Mar 2013, 12:16 am »
I'm brand new to the forum, largely due to Mr. Ritchie's involvement in the Tyler Acoustics Decade line. I must say: in the two weeks that I've owned my D2's, they are easily the most reveling speaker that I've heard in a long time...even When compared to the Revel Salons and Focal Utopias. These just "fit" with the way I like to enjoy music. Absolutely stunning sound and imaging!

One question, however: Does anyone have access to a frequency plot? I know they're rated for 30Hz to 20kHz, but I was wondering if there was an actual plot anywhere to show the tolerances etc.

I'm a recording engineer...I just geek out on that stuff :lol:

Thanks in advance for any insight!

rjryan

Re: Tyler Acoustics Decade D2
« Reply #1 on: 12 Mar 2013, 12:37 am »
My apologies. Should read "...Mr. Richie..." and "...revealing speakers..." :oops: I should know better than to fire off posts on my iPad without spell checking :lol:

Danny Richie

« Reply #2 on: 12 Mar 2013, 03:14 am »
Welcome to AC.

Yes, I have all of the measured data on those. They are actually very smooth. From about 4kHz and down they are about +/-1db. There are a few little wiggles in the top end but not bad, and easily +/-2.5db over their whole range.

Port tuning is at 27Hz.

They can also be considerable upgraded with Sonicaps, Mills resisters, Erse XQ inductors, better wire, tube connectors, and No Rez.

You are likely just getting a taste of the true clarity and resolution that they are capable of. So if you like what you are hearing now...

rjryan

« Reply #3 on: 12 Mar 2013, 11:43 pm »
Thanks so much for the reply, Danny! You're info reinforces what I've been hearing. As for the upgrades: Well, now you've got my interest piqued...I might be asking for more specifics at a later time :D