2-channel Blu-ray audio question

mateo

2-channel Blu-ray audio question
« on: 5 May 2008, 02:47 am »
I'm trying to plan an integrated HT/2-channel setup, with no multichannel audio- I want to feed Blu-ray audio into the DAC of my choice.  Apparently, it is possible to output linear PCM from the PS3 (or other BD player) via regular optical out so long as it is only 2.0 channels.  Is there any disadvantage to doing this, aside from typical Toslink jitter concerns?  I assume that, since its listed as LPCM, the audio is uncompressed, but I'm wondering if there's any sketchy downconversion processing going on or if there's a dedicated 2.0 track on the disc itself, etc.

I'm a total newb to HT, so basically I'm just wondering if there's anything I'm missing here.

Thanks!

Alwayswantmore

Re: 2-channel Blu-ray audio question
« Reply #1 on: 6 May 2008, 12:52 am »
Hi mateo,

I'm attempting to do the same (2-ch HT with external DAC). Some BluRay units support HD Dolby (uncompressed HD audio). But I'm not at all clear on whether or not this can be accessed via digital outs??? Hopefully someone will chime in with deeper technical knowledge. I've read everthing I could find on this topic, but still no answer.

keenween

« Reply #2 on: 6 May 2008, 03:01 am »
I'm interested to know as well, I was thinking of doing the same.

mateo

« Reply #3 on: 6 May 2008, 04:17 am »
Hi mateo,

I'm attempting to do the same (2-ch HT with external DAC). Some BluRay units support HD Dolby (uncompressed HD audio). But I'm not at all clear on whether or not this can be accessed via digital outs??? Hopefully someone will chime in with deeper technical knowledge. I've read everthing I could find on this topic, but still no answer.