Sharing AudioKinesis Story in HdAcoustics room

Jeffrey Hedback

• Industry Participant
  • Acoustical Design & Consulting
Sharing AudioKinesis Story in HdAcoustics room
« on: 27 May 2011, 12:47 pm »
I have a nearly indescribable appreciation of AudioKinesis and Duke as a person and crossover genius (and I don't state that praise lightly).  The story goes back to last fall and this is simply a chapter to which the conclusion has not been written.  Last fall I spoke with Duke about building a set of custom monitors to be flush-mounted in a studio facility I've been working with for a couple years. 

Short version- the studio had hired me to correct an existing control room.  The challenges were to my reports without easy fix...there were acoustical, architectural and electrical issues beyond reasonable repair.  That led to the commision of "Control Room B".  The crux of the story is that the beautiful PMC MB2's seen in the attached pdf (this studio FMG Studios Control Room B is in fact being honored in MixOnline.com honorable mention studio design excellence Class of 2011...to post in June).  These highly misapplied PMC's were down tilted ~15 deg and given the specific 3-way design of this speaker it was simply a phase mess.  My hope was to pull the PMC's out of the soffits in Control Room A to be the free-standing anchors of Control Room B.  This (sorry I did say the short version...) is were Duke comes in...

He jumped on board and built a custom version of his Rhythm Prisms to be flush-mounted in FMG Control Room A.  So, they are built and arrived to my residence for review/approval (more on that below).  Part of that review is to bring the speakers to spaces to hear them in action.